

<u>Bookham Wine Club</u> <u>Minutes of Annual General Meeting held at the Old Barn Hall,</u> 9th October 2023

1 Welcome & Notices

The Chairman, David Fulton, opened the AGM at 19.30. With 53 members in attendance, the requirement for one third of the membership to form a quorum was met. Four guests were also present.

David advised members of the fire/emergency procedures and advised that all the documents relating to the AGM are available on the club's website.

Also, in his opening remarks, he advised that he would be stepping down as chairman after the AGM.

2 Apologies for Absence

Apologies had been received from the following 28 members – John & Liz Albon, Tim Carroll, Richard Congdon, Anne Eagle, Emma Fisher, Sheila Green, Annette Hockin, Giles & Anneke Lindsay, Christine & Eric Martin, Beryl & Edmund Morgan-Warren, Don Moore, Ian & Pauline Naylor, Celia Orner, Jan Piotrowski, Magda Piotrowska, Sarah Pitt- Bailey, Ulla Read, Paul & Frances Sanders, Vivienne & David Varley, Lesley Stafford, and Heather Dougherty. Four other members did not attend but did not submit apologies.

3. Approval of the 2022 AGM Minutes

The adoption of the 2022 AGM Minutes was proposed by Peter Clarke and seconded by Philip Spooner, and duly approved without amendment.

4 Chairman's Report

David Fulton told the meeting of the club's very successful year, having had a full 12-month programme of varied monthly wine presentations and tastings. Monthly club meetings had all been well attended. Additionally, there had been a 2022 Christmas event and a 2023 Summer Wine tasting event/hog roast evening - both these events had been sold out.

David expressed his huge appreciation for all those on the committee who had made the club meetings and special events so popular and successful. In particular, David highlighted and thanked the following individuals:

- Kevin Forder, Treasurer for all his hard work in managing & monitoring the club's finances so accurately & effectively.
- Ian Robinson for his work on/off the committee over the past 15 years & for his great organisational skills in leading the special events programme with support from club volunteers.
- Roger Stafford, Membership Secretary for managing all aspects of the club's membership of 85 and for his work in managing the waiting list of 19 people.
- Eric Martin for his part in organising wine pourers at each club meeting and arranging for the glasses/jugs etc to be washed/returned afterwards.

- Patricia Robinson for organising the club's raffles which had contributed hugely to the club's finances largely due to Patricia's efforts for the past 15 years.

5 Treasurer's Report

Kevin Forder provided a summary slide of the club's financial standing which he advised was in good order and this had been confirmed by the club's external examiner, Paul Sanders. He explained that more financial details are available on the website. Kevin highlighted how the club's income is derived and what the club's key expenditures are. He said the club's aim is to break even during the year, and to maintain a reserve fund of c. £2000.00. Both had been achieved; the deficit for the year was only £53 and reserves stand at £2,080 as at 31 August 2023. Kevin advised that the club had made a charitable donation in December 2022 to the local food bank of £355.

The adoption of the Treasurer's report was proposed by Ruth Blood and seconded by Bob Mankin.

6 Annual Subscription

David Fulton advised that the club's annual subscription fee of £20.00 is to be maintained for a further year, despite BCA increasing the charges for the OBH by 10% from 1 January 2024.

7 Election of Officers & Committee Members

In compliance with the club's constitution, the following changes to the Club's Officers were approved (all with effect from 9 October 2023):

- Kevin Forder replaces David Fulton as Chairman. Proposed by David Read and seconded by Brian Postance.
- Derek Buck replaces Kevin Forder as Treasurer. Proposed by Richard Reynolds and seconded by Kathy Bucknall.
- David Read replaces Sandra Holland as Club Secretary. Proposed by Sally Fulton and seconded by Philip Spooner.

Other changes to the Committee, as detailed below, were approved "en block" with Ruth Blood proposing and Richard Evans seconding. All changes are with effect from 9 October 2023.

- Roger Stafford is moving from the membership secretary role to take on the programme manager role.
- Sandra Holland is moving from the club secretary role to the membership secretary role.
- Eric Martin and Phil Spooner will continue with their duties as general committee members. But Ian Robinson and Vivienne Varley have decided to step down.
- Paul Sanders has agreed to continue to act as Account's Examiner and was reappointed.

Similarly, Patricia Robinson has decided to relinquish her "ex-officio duties" regarding the monthly raffle.

8. Ideas / Suggestions from Members

There were none.

9. 2024 Programme

David presented the programme of monthly meetings planned for 2024. He covered wine varieties, the countries of origin and the presenters (including some new ones).

10. AOB

No AOB was raised from the members or guests.

11. Closing Remarks

On behalf of the Committee and the membership, Kevin thanked David Fulton, Ian Robinson, Patricia Robinson and, albeit in her absence, Vivienne Varley for their long service and dedication to the committee and to the club.

Kevin highlighted David Fulton's achievements as chairman for the last five years. Under David's leadership, the club had to make important decisions during Covid about the safety of members and the future of the club. Also, David has overseen the club's recent transformation and subsequent successes (full membership, a long waiting list of potential joiners, and an extensive group of available presenters and suppliers to call upon). Kevin said that David had played a significant role in selecting all the wines and presentations which members have enjoyed for the last 5 years.

Kevin made a special mention of Ian Robinson who, despite stepping down, has agreed to organise the Christmas 2023 event.

All those present gave David, Ian, Patricia, and Vivienne a resounding round of applause.

The meeting closed at 20.05.

Minutes prepared by: Sandra Holland